Art · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Event · movie · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

The Upside of Falling – Alex Light

Book Review

Thank you to the publisher for gifting me a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Becca Hart doesn’t believe in true love, but when her former best friend teases her for not having a boyfriend, Becca impulsively pretends she has been secretly seeing someone.

Brett Wells has it all. He is the captain of the football team and is one of the most popular guys in school. He should have no issues finding someone to date but he has always been more focused on his future than love.

When Brett overhears Becca’s lie, Brett decides to step in and be her mystery guy. It is the perfect solution, he gets people off his back for not dating and she can keep up the lie she is telling. Acting like the perfect couple isn’t easy though, especially when you barely know the other people.

2020-01-23 10.01.20 1.jpg

What a sweet and adorable read this is. It is full of cute moments but also sprinkled with some heavier moments throughout. I flew right through reading this book and enjoyed it a lot.

This book is perfect for fans of fans of Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen or David Yoon. It features a trope that I adore reading about, fake dating. This is the first book by Alex Light that I have read but I don’t think it will be my last.

This book has two main characters, Becca and Brett. Becca is a dedicated and likeable bookworm and prefers fictional romance rather than real life romance. I really liked Becca’s character. She was real and honest whilst she grappled with her father leaving her and her mother. Becca is such a likeable character. Brett seems as first like your typical jock but he is far from that. He is an amazing fake-boyfriend and always made me smile. Brett is tackling some tough issues of his own and they make him such a well-rounded character.

I throughly enjoyed how Brett and Becca worked through their fake relationship and what blossmed from this. I love how they comforted one another and how wonderful they were for one another. It is such a sweet and quick-read that came into my life at the time I was looking for an adorable romance book.

One thing I wish this book had more of was moments with Brett and Becca and less of the family drama. I did appreciate the family drama and it definitely added to the story for me but I do wish more time had been spent exploring the relationship between Becca and Brett.

Overall, this is an adorable romance full of sweet romance and cute moments. It is perfect for fans of Jenny Han and can easily be read in a couple of sittings. I loved this a lot and it a lovely cute romance story!

4 StarsLineHappy Reading

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Upside of Falling – Alex Light

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s