Art · Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · DIY · Event · haul · movie · Review · Tag · tbr · tv · UKYA · Uncategorized

New Book Releases I’m Excited For! – May

Another new month is on the way which of course means new books to add to my TBR! I am constantly adding books to my TBR because I love finding out about new books that are being released soon. New stories mean new adventures and what more can you want!

There are so many new books coming out in May and I cannot wait to share them with you. Here are the new book releases that I’m excited for in May!

Line

Counting Down with You by Tashie Bhuiyan

Karina Ahmed has a plan. Keep her head down, get through high school without a fuss, and follow her parents’ rules—even if it means sacrificing her dreams. When her parents go abroad to Bangladesh for four weeks, Karina expects some peace and quiet. Instead, one simple lie unravels everything.

Karina is my girlfriend.

Tutoring the school’s resident bad boy was already crossing a line. Pretending to date him? Out of the question. But Ace Clyde does everything right—he brings her coffee in the mornings, impresses her friends without trying, and even promises to buy her a dozen books (a week) if she goes along with his fake-dating facade. Though Karina agrees, she can’t help but start counting down the days until her parents come back.

I’ve been keeping an eye out for this book for a while now after seeing it discusses online. I’m very much interested in giving it a read. I have seen a couple of mixed reviews about this book but most of them sing this books praises. I am definitely going to be giving this book a read, seeing what I think and sharing my thoughts.

4th May 2021


Cool for the Summer by Dahila Adler

Lara’s had eyes for exactly one person throughout her three years of high school: Chase Harding. He’s tall, strong, sweet, a football star, and frankly, stupid hot. Oh, and he’s talking to her now. On purpose and everything. Maybe…flirting, even? No, wait, he’s definitely flirting, which is pretty much the sum of everything Lara’s wanted out of life.

Except she’s haunted by a memory. A memory of a confusing, romantic, strangely perfect summer spent with a girl named Jasmine. A memory that becomes a confusing, disorienting present when Jasmine herself walks through the front doors of the school to see Lara and Chase chatting it up in front of the lockers.

Lara has everything she ever wanted: a tight-knit group of friends, a job that borders on cool, and Chase, the boy of her literal dreams. But if she’s finally got the guy, why can’t she stop thinking about the girl?

This book has been on my radar for such a long time because of how much love this book has been getting online. I cannot wait to sit outside in the sun on a day off and get to reading this book. I just love a book with a love triangle which I know that this one has. I’ll be sharing my thoughts on this book the minute that I have finished reading it. Bring on a book that is going to make me feel like summer is here.

11th May 2021


Heartstopper Volume Four by Alice Oseman

Charlie didn’t think Nick could ever like him back, but now they’re officially boyfriends. Charlie’s beginning to feel ready to say those three little words: I love you.

Nick’s been feeling the same, but he’s got a lot on his mind – not least coming out to his dad, and the fact that Charlie might have an eating disorder.

As summer turns to autumn and a new school year begins, Charlie and Nick are about to learn a lot about what love means.

Of course I am excited bout this one  because I love the characters in Heartstopper, especially Nick and Charlie! I am looking forward to seeing what they get up to in the next volume of the Heartstopper series. Bring on the cuteness, the incredible art and another gorgeous story!

13th May 2021


Tokyo Ever After by Emiko Jean

Izumi Tanaka has never really felt like she fit in—it isn’t easy being Japanese American in her small, mostly white, northern California town. Raised by a single mother, it’s always been Izumi—or Izzy, because “It’s easier this way”—and her mom against the world. But then Izzy discovers a clue to her previously unknown father’s identity…and he’s none other than the Crown Prince of Japan. Which means outspoken, irreverent Izzy is literally a princess.

In a whirlwind, Izzy travels to Japan to meet the father she never knew and discover the country she always dreamed of. But being a princess isn’t all ball gowns and tiaras. There are conniving cousins, a hungry press, a scowling but handsome bodyguard who just might be her soulmate, and thousands of years of tradition and customs to learn practically overnight.

Izzy soon finds herself caught between worlds, and between versions of herself—back home, she was never “American” enough, and in Japan, she must prove she’s “Japanese” enough. Will Izumi crumble under the weight of the crown, or will she live out her fairytale, happily ever after?

This book is quite different from books that I would usually pick up for a couple of reasons but I am extremely intrigued by it. It says that it is perfect for fans of To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before which I certainly am. So, I am excited to to give this one a go. I am very much interesting in the royalty aspect of this book and I cannot wait to see what I think.

18th May 2021


Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating by Adiba Jaigirdar

Everyone likes Humaira “Hani” Khan—she’s easy going and one of the most popular girls at school. But when she comes out to her friends as bisexual, they invalidate her identity, saying she can’t be bi if she’s only dated guys. Panicked, Hani blurts out that she’s in a relationship…with a girl her friends absolutely hate—Ishita “Ishu” Dey. Ishu is the complete opposite of Hani. She’s an academic overachiever who hopes that becoming head girl will set her on the right track for college. But Ishita agrees to help Hani, if Hani will help her become more popular so that she stands a chance of being elected head girl.

Despite their mutually beneficial pact, they start developing real feelings for each other. But relationships are complicated, and some people will do anything to stop two Bengali girls from achieving happily ever after

I have been looking forward to reading this book for such a long time now and I am so excited for it to be finally in my hands and to give it a read. I loved The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar and flew through it so of course I’m excited for a new book by the same author. This one has a fake dating trope which is one of my absolute favourite tropes. So, you can bet I will be reading this as soon as it is my hands.

27th May 2021

Line

What May releases are you excited about? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Reading

3 thoughts on “New Book Releases I’m Excited For! – May

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s