Art · Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Event · haul · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · UKYA · Uncategorized

Promise Boys – Nick Brooks

When a book is said to be perfect for fans of Angie Thomas and Karen M. McManus, I am of course going to want to read that book. So, when saw this and read the synopsis of Promise Boys I immediately wanted to read. I’m so glad I got the opportunity to read this book because it is absolutely incredible! It is an unputdownable YA thriller that uses multiple POVs to grip you into a shocking story.

Art · Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Event · haul · non-fiction · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · tv · UKYA · Uncategorized

Lord of the Fly Fest – Goldy Moldavsky

Lord of the Fly Fest is a whacky and surreal take on the classic tale of Lord of the Flies. It is Lord of the Flies for the social media age and I had a lot of fun reading it. Goldy Moldavsky is definitely an author who I will be reading more of in the future.

Art · audio book · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Christmas · Discussion · Event · haul · movie · Nature · non-fiction · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · Top 10 · tv · UKYA · Uncategorized

What I Read in December!

We are down to the last few days of 2022 and I cannot believe how quickly this year has gone. I've read 13 books throughout December, so far, but I am hoping to read 3 more before the end of the year. If I do that I'll have reached 140 books read this year. I can't miss out on writing this post though. So, I am back with another what I've read post which is a bunch of mini reviews for the books I read in December (so far). Here they are!

Art · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Crafts · Discussion · Event · haul · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · Top 5 · UKYA · Uncategorized

Love in Winter Wonderland – Abiola Bello

Trey Anderson is popular and handsome, and he works at his family’s beloved Black-owned bookshop, Wonderland. Ariel Spencer is quirky, creative, and in need of a holiday temp job to cover her tuition for The Artists’ Studio. An opening at Wonderland is the answer . . . and the start of a hate-to-love journey for Trey and Ariel. When Trey and Ariel learn that Wonderland is on the brink of shutting down, can they get over their differences and team up to stop the doors from closing before the Christmas Eve deadline?

Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Event · haul · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · UKYA · Uncategorized

This Book Kills – Ravena Guron

This Book Kills is an expertly plotted rollercoaster YA debut novel. It is perfect for any murder-mystery loving fans out there. It is packed full of twists and turns, it is incredibly fast-paced and will keep you on the edge of your seat. I cannot recommend it enough.

Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Crafts · Discussion · Event · haul · movie · non-fiction · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · tv · UKYA · Uncategorized

The Eternal Return of Clara Hart – Louise Finch

Spence and Anthony have been friends for years, but it’s only when he witnesses a classmate die in what looks like a tragic accident at a house party that a flicker in the fabric of time helps Spence ‘see’ Anthony for the first time. When Spence wakes up to the same day again and sees Clara, the girl who died, alive and well, it’s clear he’s been granted a second chance. And a third. And a fourth…

Art · Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · Review · Tag · tbr · UKYA · Uncategorized

Something Certain, Maybe – Sara Barnard

Something Certain, Maybe is a companion novel to two of Sara Barnard’s other novels, Beautiful Broken Things and Fierce Fragile Hearts. The trio of Suzanne, Caddy and Rosie are back and in Something Certain, Maybe we follow Rosie’s story.

Art · Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · UKYA · Uncategorized

An Arrow to the Moon – Emily X. R. Pan

Hunter Yee has perfect aim with a bow and arrow, but all else in his life veers wrong. He's sick of being haunted by his family's past mistakes. The only things keeping him from running away are his younger brother, a supernatural wind and the bewitching girl at his new high school. Luna Chang dreads the future. Graduation looms ahead, and her parents' expectations are stifling. Then her life is turned upside down by the strange new boy in her class, the arrival of unearthly fireflies, and an ominous crack spreading across the town of Fairbridge.

Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · movie · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · tv · UKYA · Uncategorized

Ellie Pillai is Brown – Christine Pillainayagam

My name is Ellie. Ellie Pillai . . . And I suppose I am a little bit weird, but then, aren't we all, just a little bit? Most days, Ellie Pillai is somewhere between invisible, and not very cool - and usually she's okay with that. But suddenly, Ellie feels different. Maybe it's the new boy at school who makes her brain explode into rainbows every time she sees him (and also happens to be going out with her best friend), or maybe it's her new drama teacher, the one who seems to have noticed she exists.

Art · Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Event · haul · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · UKYA · Uncategorized

Why is Nobody Laughing? – Yasmin Rahman

Will the real Ibrahim Malik please stand up? Ibrahim and Dexter have been best friends forever. While Dexter is always cool and confident, Ibrahim...well, Ibrahim's dealing with a lot. Hiding his passion for comedy from his family, dealing with the pressure of being the oldest child in an immigrant family, and now he's started having episodes he soon realises are panic attacks.