Art · Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · DIY · Event · haul · Nature · non-fiction · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · UKYA · Uncategorized

What I Read in January!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is what-i-read-this-month.jpg

We are officially one month into 2021 and the year is off to an odd start. That doesn’t mean I’ve not read a lot though! Throughout January I have read a total of 11 books which is unbelievable for the first month of the year.

Normally in the first month of the year I’m in a slump and only read 1 book. Not this year though. So, I am back with another what I’ve read this month posts. I have a lot of thoughts I want to share on the books I read in January. I’m going to be adding a section this year to each of these posts about the months statistics too. Here is a little post that is full of mini reviews for the books I read in January!

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is line-1.jpg

Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas

If there’s one thing seventeen-year-old Maverick Carter knows, it’s that a real man takes care of his family. As the son of a former gang legend, Mav does that the only way he knows how: dealing for the King Lords. With this money he can help his mom, who works two jobs while his dad’s in prison.

Life’s not perfect, but with a fly girlfriend and a cousin who always has his back, Mav’s got everything under control.

Until, that is, Maverick finds out he’s a father.

I absolutely devoured this book in a couple of sittings. Angie Thomas has struck again with another beautiful novel that captivates you from the very first page.

I don’t think that Angie Thomas could ever write anything that I wouldn’t give 5 stars. The way in which she creates characters and atmospheres is extraordinary. I’ve written a full review of this book which you can find here!

★★★★★


Gut Feelings by C.G. Moore

At school, I learned that words,
More than weapons,
Could destroy bodies,
Could break hearts
More than fists or fury.

This is the story of Chris, what happened to him at age eleven and how that would change the rest of his life. A life-affirming and powerful coming of age verse novel that shines a light on chronic illness, who we are and how we live.

Familial adenomatous polyposis

An inherited disorder characterised by the rapid growth of small, pre-cancerous polyps in the large intestines.

I was absolutely blown away by this book. I picked it up one evening and a few hours later I had finished it, having not moved at all whilst reading it. This is such a personal story from C.G. Moore and it affected me a lot more than I thought it would do.

I’ve since looked into FAP and learned so much about how it affects people. This book has made me learn a lot and has made me more aware of so many more invisible illnesses. I wrote a post full of 5 reasons to read this book which you can find here. This one is well worth the read!

★★★★★


Snapshot Books!

Here is a little snapshot of 5 of the books that I’ve read this month along with the rating I gave them. I enjoyed them all and definitely recommend them!

  • Together, Apart by Various Authors – ★★★
  • New Year’s Kiss by Lee Matthews – ★★★★
  • Today Tonight Tomorrow by Rachel Lynn Solomon – ★★★★
  • Last One to Die by Cynthia Murphy – ★★★★
  • Daybreak by Brian Ralph – ★★★
  • Ghosts of the Tsunami by Richard Lee Perry – ★★★★★

Bad Habits by Flynn Meaney

Alex is a rebel from the tip of her purple fauxhawk to the toes of her biker boots. She’s tried everything she can think of to get expelled from her strict Catholic boarding school. Nothing has worked so far – but now, Alex has a new plan.

Tired of the sexism she sees in every corner of St Mary’s, Alex decides to stage the school’s first ever production of The Vagina Monologues. Which is going to be a challenge, as no one else at St Mary’s can even bear to say the word ‘vagina’ out loud .

I’m actually part of the blog tour for this book and will have a full review coming out for it very soon but I wanted to do a little review before its releases date. I loved this book. It is so funny, entertaining and always remains light even when it deals with important topics.

If you like the TV show Derry Girls then you will love this book. It is the American, feminist version of the show!

★★★★


Act Your Age, Eve Brown by Talia Hibbert

Eve Brown is a certified hot mess. No matter how hard she strives to do right, her life always goes horribly wrong—so she’s given up trying. But when her personal brand of chaos ruins an expensive wedding (someone had to liberate those poor doves), her parents draw the line. It’s time for Eve to grow up and prove herself—even though she’s not entirely sure how…

Jacob Wayne is in control. Always. The bed and breakfast owner’s on a mission to dominate the hospitality industry—and he expects nothing less than perfection. So when a purple-haired tornado of a woman turns up out of the blue to interview for his open chef position, he tells her the brutal truth: not a chance in hell. Then she hits him with her car—supposedly by accident. Yeah, right.

I absolutely love this series and I was beyond excited when I was approved for an early copy of the last instalment of the series. As always with The Brown Sisters series I devoured the book in a couple of sittings and I adored it.

I will be writing a full review of this one very soon but just know that it is as fun, funny and entertaining as the other books in the series. I’m sad the series has come to an end but I’m sure I’ll be reading them again at some point. If you’ve not read this series yet, I cannot recommend it enough.

★★★★


Ghosts by Dolly Alderton

Nina Dean has arrived at her early thirties as a successful food writer with loving friends and family, plus a new home and neighbourhood. When she meets Max, a beguiling romantic hero who tells her on date one that he’s going to marry her, it feels like all is going to plan.

A new relationship couldn’t have come at a better time – her thirties have not been the liberating, uncomplicated experience she was sold. Everywhere she turns, she is reminded of time passing and opportunities dwindling. Friendships are fading, ex-boyfriends are moving on and, worse, everyone’s moving to the suburbs. There’s no solace to be found in her family, with a mum who’s caught in a baffling mid-life makeover and a beloved dad who is vanishing in slow-motion into dementia.

I picked this book up on a whim after seeing it out and about in bookshops and I’m so glad I did. This is an entertaining read that I’ve been told is perfect for fans of Fleabag. As a debut novel the writing in this is beautiful and had me gripped.

I read this one with my friend Sarah and we both throughly enjoyed it. It is a book I would highly recommend to everyone. A book well worth reading!

★★★★


Statistics

Books read this month: 11

Pages read this month: 3,341

There you have it, that is everything I read in January! What have you read in January and what are you looking forward to reading in February? Let me know in the comments!

Happy Reading

6 thoughts on “What I Read in January!

  1. Yay for starting your reading year well!
    I’ve been meaning to read Angie Thomas’s books. I should really pick up The Hate U Give this year!! And I’ve only heard nothing but good things about Talia Hibbert’s series. I really hope to get to that soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s